Share This Event

ONLINE Spring 2022 Day of Connection - Pay What You Can

  • 05 Mar 2022
  • 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
  • Online Event
  • 15

Registration

(depends on selected options)

Base fee:

MenHealing Days of Connection are open to anyone who currently identifies as male (cisgender or transgender), 18 or older, who has been sexually victimized as a child and/or assaulted or raped as an adult.

This Day of Connection will be conducted virtually via the MenHealing confidential Zoom platform.

This virtual single-day gathering will provide a safe space for male survivors who are isolated or wanting to enhance or grow their connections with other survivors. Participants will have an opportunity to engage in interactive and experiential activities that are designed to reduce isolation, promote connection, and build community. Unlike the Days/Weekends of Recovery, this Day of Connection is created to focus on shared experiences of isolation, without delving deeply into the circumstances of victimization. 

This single-day experience will Include a variety of gentle and engaging activities that use art, music, and body/mind exercises, with emotional/physical safety as a foundation. It is hoped that participants will emerge from the day’s experience with greater connection to themselves and others. No artistic talent or experience is required

Registration is now closed but we have another one scheduled for this Fall.  Facilitators will conduct pre-event screening interview that will be scheduled beginning in late December or early January.  You are encouraged to register early as space is limited and we expect a high demand for each of these events.


MenHealing is committed to equity of financial accessibility for the Day of Connection. We believe that healing should not be impeded by economic limitations. We want everyone to be assured access regardless of financial resources. 

The registration fee of $350 covers the actual costs for conducting this Day of Connection. In congruence with our financial philosophy, we expect those who can afford to pay the entire actual price for a DOC to do so. However, if you are unable to pay the entire cost, we allow you to submit payment for an amount that better reflects your budget.  We do require a minimum payment of 10% of the actual cost ($35).

About Weekends of Recovery

For some participants, this Day of Connection may be a first step in preparation for attending a Day or Weekend of Recovery (DOR/WOR) Retreat.  A DOR/WOR provides complementary support for any male – 18 or older – who is a survivor of sexual trauma as a child and/or as an adult. The WOR healing retreat is an adjunctive resource, not a replacement for Therapy. By engaging participants in creating an environment that supports safety needs for male survivors, our program format seeks to acknowledge and honor the authentic diversities of attendees at each WOR (racial, ethnic, class, spirituality, sexuality, gender, etc.). Alumni of DOR/WOR retreats report the experience contributed to easing their suffering; to enabling higher functioning; to facilitating healthier relationships with friends, partners, children; to inspiring activism; and to diminishing the cycle of victimization.

Format for The Virtual Online Day of Connection

This Day of Connection will be divided into two sessions, each 3 hours in length.  Attendance at both sessions is required and you must have access to (1) stable internet connection, (2) screen that is computer or pad in size, and (3) confidential and uninterrupted physical setting.  Hangout time during the mid-day break and at the end of the day will also be available to allow participants unstructured hangout time.

Schedule for the Day of Connection

Session 1 Sat.,3/5/22:  11 a.m. – 2 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. CT / 9 a.m. 12 p.m. MT / 8 – 11 a.m. PT

Break/Hangout Time: 2 – 3:30 p.m. ET / 1 – 2:30 p.m. CT / 12 – 1:30 p.m. MT / 11 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. PT

Session 2 Sat., 3/5/22: 3:30 – 6:30 p.m. ET/ 2:30 – 5:30 p.m. CDT / 1:30 – 4:30 MT / 12:30 – 3:30 p.m. PT

After Session Hangout Time (Optional): 6:30 – 7:30 p.m. ET / 5:30 – 6:30 p.m. CT / 4:30 – 5:30 p.m. MT / 3:30 – 4:30 p.m. PT


Facilitator Team

The Facilitator Team for this ONLINE Day of Connection is comprised of both male and female facilitators The team for this event will be Tosin Akindele, Uma Dorn, and Rich Sims.

Help Support A Survivor Who Has Financial Needs

Many of our participants benefit from the generosity of financial assistance. If you are in a position to make a financial contribution to our financial assistance fund, you can make a donation through our website. Thanks for any help you can provide

Cancellation Policy: Due to the limited number of spaces, please let us know immediately if you will be unable to attend. 

All cancellations made before 30 days prior to event date will allow refund minus non-refundable deposit of $50; no refunds will be issued during final 30 days prior to event date.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software